Sir Charles Mackerras appointed an Honorary Member of the Guildhall School of Music

Classical music news

20 November 2007

Sir Charles Mackerras

At an awards ceremony in Central London yesterday, The Guildhall School of Music and Drama appointed the great opera and orchestral conductor Sir Charles Mackerras an Honorary Member of the School.

In addition, ten further distinguished professors and past students of the School have been made Fellows of the School.

The press release reads: 'The honours were presented at a ceremony at the City of London's Guildhall. Honorands include alumni, as well as faculty members who have made a significant contribution to the life of the School.

'Alumni who received Fellowships at the ceremony included acting graduates Sally Greene (Drama 1981), Alistair McGowan (Drama 1989), and Daniel Evans (Drama 1994), and from music: jazz pianist Marian McPartland (Music 1938) and composer Debbie Wiseman MBE (Music 1984). From the School's Music Department Professor of Vocal Studies Sue McCulloch and Deputy Head of Vocal Studies Linnhe Robertson were made Fellows, as were Senior Costume Supervisor Sue Hudson, Costume Supervisor Chris Lewis, and Chief Electrician Steve Huttley from the Technical Theatre Department.

'Sir Charles Mackerras (Hon GSM) received Honorary Membership of the School. Sir Charles has had an internationally acclaimed career spanning seven decades. His career has seen him based mainly in Europe, where he has become known for his flawless musicianship, rigorous approach to preparation and attention to detail. '

The award for Mackerras comes in a year where he's led sensational performances at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, of Handel's Orlando and Janacek's Katya Kabanova. Later this season, he'll return to The Royal Opera for Le nozze di Figaro by one of the composers with which he's most associated, Mozart, as well as leading concerts with the Philharmonia Orchestra.


Full list of Honorands:


Sir Charles Mackerras


Alistair McGowan: Drama 1989

Daniel Evans: Drama 1994

Sally Greene: Drama 1981

Marian McPartland: Music 1938

Debbie Wiseman: Music 1984

Sue Hudson: Senior Costume Supervisor, Technical Theatre

Chris Lewis: Costume Supervisor, Technical Theatre

Steve Huttly: Chief Electrician, Technical Theatre

Linnhe Robertson: Deputy Head of Vocal Studies

Sue McCulloch: Professor, Vocal Studies

By Dominic McHugh